Self portrait

We studied about various artists from the Renaissance era and learnt about their self portraits. Now as we moved ahead in making ours, I started making basic elements such as eyes and lips. Slowly as I was close to finishing basic lines I realized i drew some parts wrongly. When I tried to redo them looking at a picture of me I somehow drew them more vague. From this I realized that ‘you draw what you think, not what you are!’

fullsizerenderimg_4164

I played a little with oil pastels and makeup for the same. Further as I chose an artist style to again inspiration, I read about Gustave Courbet’s self portrait i.e. The Desperate Man. Taking further the same idea i created this sketch.img_5210img_5209

Leave a Reply

